

EMPLOYMENT TRIBUNALS

Claimants:	Mr RM Akbar and others (see schedule attached)		
Respondent 1:	A Marketing Vocation Ltd (in Administration) ("AMVOC")		
Respondent 2:	Secretary of State for Business and Trade (as an interested party)		

JUDGMENT

- 1. The Tribunal declares that the claims of the remaining claimants (who worked in the respondent's Leeds office and are listed in the attached schedule) that the respondent failed to comply with the requirements of s188 of the Trade Union & Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992 are well-founded.
- 2. The Tribunal makes a protective award of 90 days' pay in respect of the claimants who were dismissed as redundant with effect from the dates set out in the table attached.
- 3. The Tribunal orders the respondent to pay those claimants their remuneration for the protected period of 90 days beginning on 2 September 2020. The Recoupment of Jobseeker's Allowance and income Support Regulations 1996 apply to this award.

NOTES

4. These claims were originally part of a multiple of 178 claims under the lead claim number 1803848/2023 and others (Mr Syed Abbas and others), arising out of the insolvency of AMVOC's business, the closure of its offices in Leeds, Harrogate and Manchester and the redundancies of all staff based at those offices. Judgments have already been issued for some of the claimants and other claimants' claims have been dismissed on withdrawal.

Useful information

- 1. There were no contested hearing in this case, the respondent having neither entered a response nor attended the hearing. Any request for full written reasons relating to this Judgment must be made within 14 days of the date on which this Judgment is sent to the parties.
- 2. All judgments and any written reasons for the judgments are published, in full, online at https://www.gov.uk/employment-tribunal-decisions shortly after a copy has been sent to the claimants and respondents.
- 3. You can appeal to the Employment Appeal Tribunal if you think a legal mistake was made in an Employment Tribunal decision. There is more information here: <u>https://www.gov.uk/appeal-employment-appeal-tribunal</u>

Employment Judge Deeley Date: 20 September 2024

All judgments (apart from those under rule 52) and any written reasons for the judgments are published, in full, online at <u>https://www.gov.uk/employment-tribunal-decisions</u> shortly after a copy has been sent to the claimants and respondents.

Enc – Recoupment of benefits information leaflet

[SCHEDULE OF CLAIMS]

[SCHEDULE OF			
1803849/2023	Mr R M Akbar	1803935/2023	Mr S Hunter
1803850/2023	Miss S Alem	1803936/2023	Mr R Hunter
1803851/2023	Miss Z Ali	1803937/2023	Mr L Idleh
1803852/2023	Mr H Alikhil	1803938/2023	Mr M Imrie
1803853/2023	Mr F Allen	1803939/2023	Mr O Ince
1803854/2023	Mr T Allsopp	1803940/2023	Mr A Jackson
1803855/2023	Miss H Almond	1803941/2023	Mr J Jacobs
1803856/2023	Mr G Andrews	1803942/2023	Miss V Jameson
1803857/2023	Mr M A Aslam	1803944/2023	Mrs D Kaur
1803858/2023	Mr C Atkinson	1803946/2023	Mr J Kaye
1803859/2023	Mr M Aydin	1803947/2023	Miss A Kirkman
1803860/2023	Mr Z Azhar	1803948/2023	Miss M Kusinski
1803861/2023	Mr A Bailey	1803950/2023	Mr C Lythe
1803863/2023	Mr K Barras	1803951/2023	Mr J Maguire
1803844/2023	Mr D Barros	1803952/2023	Mr A Maloney
1803865/2023	Mrs N Bassham	1803953/2023	Mr J Mansaray
1803866/2023	Mr C Bedford	1803954/2023	Miss A Masih
1803867/2023	Miss P Bedford	1803955/2023	Mr C McGowan
1803868/2023	Mr B Berkeley	1803956/2023	Mr C Milligan
1803869/2023	Mr F Binns	1803957/2023	Mr B Monaghan
1803870/2023	Miss M Black	1803958/2023	Miss J Moore
1803871/2023	Mrs A Black	1803959/2023	Mr L Moroney
1803872/2023	Mr L Blackmore	1803960/2023	Mrs J Moroney
1803873/2023	Mr T Blakey	1803961/2023	Mr D Mousley-Dean
1803874/2023	Mr K Bleasdale	1803962/2023	Mr E Muntean
1803875/2023	Mr L Bostock	1803963/2023	Miss S Naveed
1803876/2023	Miss D N Bowden-Thornley	1803964/2023	Miss E Neary
1803877/2023	Miss R Bower	1803965/2023	Mr H Nelson
1803878/2023	Mr C Boyle	1803966/2023	Mr R O'Keefe
1803879/2023	Miss I Branton	1803967/2023	Mr P Outhwaite
1803880/2023	Mr A Brockway	1803969/2023	Mr S Parekh
1803881/2023	Miss M Brown	1803970/2023	Mrs L Parker
1803882/2023	Mr D Brown	1803972/2023	Mr H Pinder
1803883/2023	Mr F Burke	1803973/2023	Mr J Pinnock
1803884/2023	Mr D Cheung	1803975/2023	Mr C Polter
1803885/2023	Mr N Clayton	1803976/2023	Miss O Pritchard
1803887/2023	Miss E Conboy	1803977/2023	Mr B Quinn
1803888/2023	Miss F Conroy	1803978/2023	Mr A Rahmaan
1803889/2023	Miss L Cox	1803979/2023	Ms J Rasmussen
1803890/2023	Mr J Dalton	1803981/2023	Mr J Ribbans
1803891/2023	Mr M Daniel	1803982/2023	Mr M Rickaby
1803892/2023	Mr J Dato	1803983/2023	Miss G Roberts
1803893/2023	Mr E Davies	1803984/2023	Mr J Robson
1803895/2023	Mr J Deyes	1803985/2023	Miss J L Rodriguez
1803896/2023	Miss R Dobson	1803986/2023	Mr O Rutter
1803897/2023	Mr T B Donnelly	1803987/2023	Mr P Safi
1803899/2023	Me P Earnshaw	1803989/2023	Mr H Salah
1803900/2023	Miss M K Edmondson	1803990/2023	Mr J Scarlott
1803902/2023	Mr D Edwards	1803992/2023	Miss H Shah
1803903/2023	Mr T Ellison	1803993/2023	Mr M Sharp
1803904/2023	Mr J Etienne	1803994/2023	Mr K Shave
1803905/2023	Mr T Evans	1803995/2023	Mr J Shaw
1803906/2023	Miss P Farmer	1803996/2023	Mr K Shelly
1803907/2023	Miss E Fawcett	1803998/2023	Mr H Sikora
1803908/2023	Mr D Fenning-Dalby	1803999/2023	Mr K Smith
1803910/2023	Miss R Firth	1804000/2023	Miss T Sorkin
1803911/2023	Miss P Firth	1804001/2023	Mr F Stanton
1803912/2023	Mr B Fleming	1804002/2023	Miss A Starr- Riley
1803913/2023	Mr J Fox	1804003/2023	Mr T Sterling-Sharp
1803915/2023	Mr M Freeman	1804004/2023	Mr L Stevens
1803916/2023	Miss E Garbutt	1804007/2023	Mr B Symmonds
1803918/2023	Mr C Graham	1804008/2023	Mr U Tasif
1803919/2023	Miss K Green	1804009/2023	Miss M Teanby
1803920/2023	Mr A Hafeez	1804010/2023	Mr A Tegerdine
1803921/2023	Mr G Hainsworth	1804011/2023	Mr O Thomas-Sanders
1803922/2023	Mr J Halton	1804014/2023	Mr M Ward
1803924/2023	Mr K Harris	1804015/2023	Miss R Warren
1803925/2023	Miss L Harrison	1804016/2023	Mr A Watson
1803926/2023	Mr J Hawkshaw	1804017/2023	Mr J Way
1803927/2023	Mr S Head	1804019/2023	Mr B Williams
1803928/2023	Miss K Hillery	1804020/2023	Mr A Williamson
1803929/2023	Mr A Hodgson	1804021/2023	Mr M Willis
1803930/2023	Miss J Hollis	1804022/2023	Miss A Willows-Hields
1803931/2023	Mr J Howard	1804023/2023	Miss A Wood
1803932/2023	Miss L Howden	1804024/2023	Mr E Wright
1803933/2023	Mr I Huddleston	1804025/2023	Mr H Zaheer